Mood Music (or Ramblings on Music)

So today at work, I have my area to myself and not a lot going on. I’m organizing and cleaning and since I’m basically alone, I have my “favorites” playlist on my iPod playing. Now, I’m a huge fan of music and almost all genres at that. I like a little of everything from big band of the 40’s to Korn, from the Beach Boys to Boys to Men, from country to rock and roll, from opera or classical to heavy metal.

But it’s funny that when I’m cleaning, I usually put on “oldies”. You know rock and roll and Mo’ Town from the mid 50’s through the 60’s. Sometimes I put on 80’s but the oldies are my go-to music when I wanna get to dancing and cleaning at the same time. It keeps me in a good mood and moving. And today it got me thinking of all the ways that music affects me, and most other human beings. Have you thought about this? Like really?

When you’re fighting traffic to get to work or home from work, do you listen to stuff that makes you wanna take out everyone in your way? Or do you put on something calming and soothing so that you will be able to keep your cool? I have some songs that I absolutely cannot listen to if I’m sitting in traffic and not moving because they make me one very angry person. lol However, I put on Enya and I’m the epitome of calm.

So that said, I’m kinda picky about certain things not being in songs I listen to. I tend to stay away from rap because a lot of it is degrading to women or other people or it promotes things that I certainly don’t agree with like crimes. It kinda floors me when I hear people say stuff like “Oh music doesn’t really affect me” or “It’s just a song, doesn’t mean I agree with what it says. I just like the beat”. You sure it doesn’t affect you? How many times have you had a song stuck in your head all day? Have you found yourself singing with a song that you hadn’t even realized was playing in a store? How about moving to that beat when you weren’t paying attention originally? It does affect us, all of us! Granted some people are more affected by others but it does affect you.

If you don’t believe me, research how much good composers in Hollywood get paid. Press the mute button on an intense scene on a movie or show you’re watching at home. If you take away the music on a horror or suspense movie, things aren’t nearly as scary or suspenseful. How about on a game show when contestants only have so much time to complete a task? As the time starts to run out, the music speeds up, freaking the person out.

So does music affect us? Absolutely! Think about it more the next time you are listening to the radio or watching TV. I would highly suggest you choose the right music for the right time, task or setting. After all, “mood music” is a common phrase for a reason. Happy listening!

Is there a certain song that you consider to be your “theme song”? Is there particular music you listen to in certain settings for getting the right ‘feel’? I’d love to hear about it!

Leave a Reply

